

Office of the Kansas State Treasurer Cash Management Division

900 SW Jackson 2nd Floor North Topeka, KS 66612 Phone 785-296-4144 Fax 785-296-6639

The collection and remitting of Heritage Trust Fund Fees has changed

MAXIMUM AMOUNT TO REMIT TO THE KANSAS STATE TREASURER PER CALANDAR YEAR IS \$30,000.00

The manner in which Heritage Trust Fund Fees are collected and remitted by Kansas counties dramatically changed, effective January 1, 2015.

From the 2014 Session Laws of Kansas, K.S.A. 28-115 has been amended with regards to the how the fees are to be collected by the register of deeds, paid to the county treasurer and then remitted to the State of Kansas Treasurer for the Heritage Trust Fund.

With regards to the Heritage Trust Fund Fees, K.S.A. 28-115 stipulates that:

- (i) On and after January 1, 2015, in addition to the fees required to be charged and collected pursuant to subsection (a), the register of deeds shall charge and collect an additional fee of \$1 per page for recording;
 - (1) The first page of any deeds, mortgages or other instruments of writing, not to exceed legal size-8¹/₂" x 14";
 - (2) The second page and each additional page or fraction of any deeds, mortgagees or instruments of writing, and;
 - (3) A release or assignment of real estate mortgage.

Any fees collected pursuant to this subsection shall be paid by the register of deeds to the county treasurer. The county treasurer shall pay quarterly to the state treasurer all funds accruing under this subsection. All such moneys paid to the state treasurer shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the heritage trust fund. No payments under this subsection shall be made by the county treasurer to the state treasurer during any calendar year in excess of a total of \$30,000. All moneys collected in excess of this amount which under this subsection would be paid to the state treasurer shall be credited to the county general fund.

Report the information to the Kansas State Treasurer by using The Cage Receipts System, then remit payment to the Kansas State Treasurer's Office by Automated Clearing House (ACH), wire, or check. Include a copy of The Cage Receipts System generated document with payment. When paying electronically (ACH or wire), email notification to <u>cash@treasurer.ks.gov</u>.

Remit the amount payable to the Kansas State Treasurer, by the 15th of the month following the quarter end.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 785-296-4153 or by email at cash@treasurer.ks.gov.

More information about the State Treasurer's Office can also be found at <u>www.kansasstatetreasurer.com</u>.